Go TO Content
ROC government thanks international community for concern following Hualien earthquake
February 11, 2018
No. 020

Following the earthquake occurred off the coast of Hualien in eastern Taiwan in the midnight of February 6, the international community continuously shows their concern and offers assistance. This fully demonstrates the strong friendship toward Taiwan. On behalf of the government and people of the Republic of China (Taiwan), the Ministry of Foreign Affairs expresses its heartfelt appreciation.
As of 17:00 on February 10, a total of 63 countries, as well as the Central American Integration System, Central American Parliament, European Union, and Organization of Eastern Caribbean States have conveyed concern and expressed willingness to provide relief supplies or send rescue teams to Taiwan. The 63 countries include Australia, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, the Czech Republic, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, France, Germany, Guatemala, Haiti, the Holy See, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Japan, Jordan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Nauru, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore, Slovakia, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Tuvalu, the United Kingdom, the United States, Venezuela, and Vietnam. (E)