Miroslav Antl leads Czech parliamentary delegation to Taiwan
Date: 2016/12/03    Data Source: Public Diplomacy Coordination Council
December 03, 2016

Miroslav Antl, Chairman of the Czech-Taiwan Friendship Group of the Czech Republic Senate, led a five-member parliamentary delegation to Taiwan from November 18 to December 2, at the invitation of the Republic of China (Taiwan) government. 

The purpose of the visit was to strengthen bilateral parliamentary exchanges and provide the delegation with a better understanding of Taiwan’s recent political, economic, and social developments, thus paving the way for more substantive cooperation and exchanges in the years to come.

While in Taiwan, the delegation called on Judicial Yuan President Hsu Tzong-li, Legislative Yuan Vice President Tsai Chi-chang, Tainan Mayor William Ching-te Lai, Political Deputy Minister of Finance Su Jain-rong, and Deputy Minister of Justice Chen Ming-tang. Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs Leo Chen-jan Lee hosted a luncheon in their honor. In addition, the delegation called at the Straits Exchange Foundation, Investigation Bureau, National Police Agency, and Hsinchu Science Park. The parliamentarians will toured sites of economic and cultural interest, such as the National Palace Museum, Jingmei Human Rights Cultural Park, Chimei Museum, and Taipei 101.

Taiwan and the Czech Republic share the values of freedom, democracy, and respect for human rights, which serve as the foundation for deepening bilateral relations.  The Czech Republic is one of Taiwan’s strongest trading partners in Central Europe, and to date 28 Taiwanese enterprises have invested there, creating 23,000 jobs. MOFA will continue to promote bilateral cooperation and exchanges in such areas as trade, investment, culture, education, and science and technology.

Except for Chairperson Antl, this was the first visit to Taiwan for the other parliamentarians, namely, Radek Susil, Deputy Chairman of the Committee on Constitutional and Legal Affairs;  Miroslav Nenutil, Chairman of the Standing Commission on Rural Development; Emilie Triskova, Member of the Committee on Constitutional and Legal Affairs; and Radek Merkl, Deputy Head of the Czech Senate’s Foreign Affairs Department. (E)